As the in-house magazine for City of AsylumSampsonia Way is devoted to literary freedom of expression and giving voice to persecuted writers.

The magazine was named after Sampsonia Way, a street in Pittsburgh that houses exiled writers hosted by City of Asylum. Just as the physical Sampsonia Way provides a home for exiled writers in a literary community, Sampsonia Way aims to create a space in which endangered writers thrive and free literary expression is a valued part of everyday life.

Beginning in 2019, City of Asylum has partnered with the University of Pittsburgh, gaining the support of their Public and Professional Writing Program. Under the guidance of a professor, students create and edit articles, conduct interviews, and manage the social media of Sampsonia Way.

An archived record of our original website can be found at

sampsonia way magazine

Managing Editor:
Tim Maddocks, Univ. of Pittsburgh Lecturer 

Associate Editor: 
Simten Coşar, Scholar-At-Risk

For all inquiries please contact us at info[at]

Fall 2022 // Sampsonia Way Staff
Odessa Patmos, Assistant Editor
Daishon Spann, Assistant Editor
Ebonee Rice-Nguyen, Staff Writer
Leah Simpson, Staff Writer
Alyssa Machi, Staff Writer
Delaney Rauscher Adams, Staff Writer
Paige Wasserman, Staff Writer

Spring 2022 Staff
Hailey Palubicki, Assistant Editor
Alayna Powell, Poetry Editor
Delphie Backs, Writer-at-large
Maddie Gilmore, Social Media Coordinator
Odessa Patmos, Staff Writer
Thomas Barnes, Staff Writer
Alexa Katherine Will, Staff Writer & Translator
Ian Davies, Staff Writer
Romita Das, Staff Writer
Neena Hagen, Features Editor
Daishon Spann, Staff Writer/Events Coordinator
Rebecca Johnson, Staff Writer
Punya Bhasin, Staff Writer

Spring 2021 Staff
Emily Rothermel, Assistant Editor
Delphie Backs
Delilah Bourque
Renee Cantor
Grace DeLallo
Natalie Frank
Caleb Karsh
Sinead McDevitt

Fall 2020 Staff
Hannah Woodruff
Sandy Fairclough
Olivia Orebaugh
Kate Rempe
Craig Hayes II

Spring 2020 Staff
Mia DiFelice
Jenn Nguyen
Madison Kerlan
Kriti Sanghi
Sarah McKee
Andie Spatig
Brianna Austin
Brenden Rearick

Fall 2019 Staff
Sarah Gross
Nicole Arthur
Kriti Sanghi
Emily Rothermel
Madison Kerlan
Timmy Miller
Jenn Nguyen
Thia Paruchuru

Special Thanks to:
Henry Reese (COA founder)
Abby Lembersky (Program Manager)
Erin Roussel (Project Manager)
Alexis Jabour (Production Coordinator)

Editors Emeriti
Silvia Duarte
Abigail Meinen
Caitlyn Christensen
T.J. Murphy
Mia DiFelice

Publisher’s Statement
Sampsonia Way encourages responsible and forceful free expression. The opinions and facts expressed are those of the authors. If you disagree with an opinion or believe we have published an error, please let us know. Other than providing a public forum, we make no warranties.

Share this:

Click Here to Join Our Newsletter

Subscribe to email updates on upcoming events, new bookstore releases, and more.